Natural Exotic Pond, Post 6 – Bait Testing (12.02.16)

After having my car in the workshop for the best part of two weeks, I was gently testing out the repairs. I wanted to take it on a longer drive on the motorway, and decided to head out to Rawang and back, via the Natural Exotic Pond. I also wanted to try out prawn as bait – I’d been told that it works well.

My initial plan was to once again fish Post 5 opposite the restaurant for some gratuitous Amazon Redtail Catfish catching. The best laid plans were, once again, confounded – the spot was taken already. Plan B was a switch to Post 6.

I rigged up a sliding ledger rig , pinned on a tiger prawn and cast it to the south-eastern corner of the restaurant. I then commenced to prepare my second outfit, for lure fishing. It only took a few minutes for the prawn bait to be engulfed in a ferocious strike and I was quickly at the rod battling a good sized catfish, with the familiar tug-of-war as I treid to stop the fishing reaching the legs of the restaurant. I was aided in this by my old Penn 6500ss spooled with 30lb braid. It was short but intense and I knew that I’d won when I got the fish 10m away from the structure, a c.20lbs+ Amazon Cat:

(1)_Amazon Redtail Catfish no.1 (12.02.16)

(2)_Amazon Redtail Catfish no.1 (12.02.16)

Amazon Redtail Catfish c.20lbs

I pinned on a new prawn and cast again. It wasn’t long before the second prawn was taken, this time by a smaller fish:

(4)_Amazon Redtail Catfish no.2 (12.02.16)Amazon Redtail Catfish no.2

Wow I thought, it’s before peak fishing time (usually 6.00pm+), I’m not in the best position and I’ve already scored two fish. I noticed that the anglers at Post 5 were having a quiet time. I started doing the maths  – I had over 20 prawn baits ….. that’s 20+ fish …!! But with that, the bites just stopped on prawn.

(5)_New bait (12.02.16)New bait – one of fishing’s standards

After a fishless half an hour, whilst Post 5 started to pick up fish every 10 minutes, I decided to switch bait. I also had a bucket of freshly chopped up ikan lampam that I bought from the bait pens. I finally got my third fish a full hour after the second fish …. another fat Amazon:

(6)_Amazon Redtail Catfish no.3 (12.02.16)

(8)_Amazon Redtail Catfish no.3 (12.02.16)Another fat Redtail ….

(9)_Natural Exotic Pond views (12.02.16)The view from Post no.6

I quickly followed up 15 minutes later with what proved to be my last fish of the session, a small Amazon Catfish:

(12)_Amazon Redtail Catfish no.4 (12.02.16)Fish no.4, last of the session

After that it was just relax, enjoy the sunset, and watch on as Post 5 pulled in around 20 fish between 3 anglers, in a few hours of a crazy hot bite.

(14)_Natural Exotic Pond sunset (12.02.16)

(15)_Natural Exotic Pond sunset (12.02.16)

(18)_Natural Exotic Pond sunset (12.02.16)Natural Exotic sunset, view from Post 6

Do prawn baits work? Sure. Are they better than the fresh fish bait that can be bought from the Pond? Not on the evidence of this trip.

This entry was posted in (1) Malaysia, (1.03) - Natural Exotic Fish Fishing Pond - Rawang, Catfish, Catfish - Amazon Redtail. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

