Friday Evening Fishing, NEFFP (22.08.14)

I decided, after a hard week at work, to take advantage of my Friday half-day and head off to the Natural Exotic Pond in the late afternoon for a session of lure fishing. I was joined by my boss, John Weber, in the early evening.

  • The first hour was crazy – I landed an Asian Redtail Catfish with my second cast:

(1)_Fish No.1 - Asian Redtail Catfish (22.08.14)

(2)_Fish No.1 - Asian Redtail Catfish (22.08.14) [ed](3)_Fish No.1 - Asian Redtail Catfish (22.08.14) [ed]Asian Redtail Catfish on a white/red soft plastic

  • I followed this up with an Amazon Redtail Catfish a few cast later:

(4)_Fish No.2 - Amazon Redtail Catfish (22.08.14)

(5)_Fish No.2 - Amazon Redtail Catfish (22.08.14)Amazon Redtail Catfish on a white/red soft plastic

  • The next half an hour saw me landed 3 consecutive Amazon Cats. After the first fish (foul hooked) I proceeded to land personal best Amazon’s of 30lb and 24lb respectively, before pulling the hook on a third big fish!

(6)_Fish No.4 - 30lb Amazon Redtail Cat (22.08.14)

(7)_Fish No.4 - 30lb Amazon Redtail Cat (22.08.14)

(8)_Fish No.4 - 30lb Amazon Redtail Cat (22.08.14)

30lb Amazon Redtail Catfish

http://youtu.be/2nBbXLyO1II

Film – 30lb Amazon Redtail Catfish

(9)_Fish No.5 - 24lb Amazon Redtail Cat (22.08.14)

(10)_Fish No.5 - 24lb Amazon Redtail Cat (22.08.14)24lb Amazon Redtail Catfish

http://youtu.be/LWzGocDP95I

Film – 24lb Amazon Redtail Catfish

  • My boss showed up just after 6.00pm, just as I hooked-up again. After a brief fight I pulled the hook on this fish
  • There then followed a period of quiet (that coincided with the arrival of the boss) ….!! The bite rate dropped dramatically, and the fish that were hooked-up started to spit the hooks with monotonous regularity! It took a further half an hour before fish no.6, an Asian Redtail:

http://youtu.be/U7a9CL-_pJw

Film – Asian Redtail Catfish

  • Meanwhile, John was faring no better – he registered mutltiple hook-ups on both live-bait and lures over the next few hour, but each time the fish managed to get free, even after protracted battles – hooks pulling as the fish was at the bank-side
  •  I finally manage my seventh fish of the day, after dropping maybe 5 or 6 fish, an Asian Redtail that fought ferociously but was unfortunately foul-hooked.
  •  I finished my 3 hour session as darkness fell, just before 8.00pm. I stayed an had a cold beer whilst John fished on for another hour to finish his session. 
This entry was posted in (1) Malaysia, (1.03) - Natural Exotic Fish Fishing Pond - Rawang, Catfish. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday Evening Fishing, NEFFP (22.08.14)

  1. Jaz Moody says:

    what are the rates nowadays there? thanks

    • Jaz,

      It’s RM100 for 3 hours with an additional RM50 refundable deposit (as long as you don’t overstay ….!!). There may be a promotion, RM100 for 4 hours coming soon (November?).

      A

Leave a Reply

